Skip to content

Whiskeyfest inspired food

December 29, 2010
tags:

A couple of times in the past year my husband Sam dragged me to some sort of whiskey festival/tasting thing. Well, the first one he dragged me and it was really fun, so the second one I went gladly to, and we’re going again in March. I don’t really like whisk(e)y but have learned to tell which ones are good, and can appreciate all the complex flavors a single bottle offers. Of course I spend much of the time in the sessions scribbling down food pairing ideas or recipes using the various whiskeys we’re tasting.

This salad was inspired by a recent festival and a session where we tasted a bunch of very sea-peaty whiskeys:

Barley and smoked tofu salad with whisky dressing and seaweed

Barley and smoked tofu salad with whisky dressing and seaweed

I have usually had whiskey in sweet foods, but it was perfect in the dressing for this salad. It brought together all the smokey salty flavors of the various foods and a hint of sweet caramelyness.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 12:32 pm

    Looks and sounds delicious!

  2. January 2, 2011 8:19 pm

    And in less than 12 hours I will be there to sample some of her amazing recipies. Not only am I a tech, but a huge foodie. And I loves me some 20+ year old MacAllan or a Walker Blue.

    • January 3, 2011 9:11 am

      I was sick all weekend, so hopefully I’m not too off my game this week (though we’re having store-bought sandwiches today along with some salads because I’m not even 70% yet)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

