Skip to content

Your mom’s a smut

February 21, 2011
tags:

Does this look like something you’d want to eat?

Corn smut on my cutting board

Corn smut on my cutting board

If you ever get the chance, do eat it, because it’s delicious. It’s called huitlacoche or corn smut, and is in season with corn (ie not now).

I got my hands on a whole bunch of infected corn cobs last summer:

Corn smut on the cob

Corn smut on the cob

I used them to make a filling for plantain-dough empanadas. I told the lunch-eaters at SmugMug HQ that they had ‘corn mushrooms’ in them, and people loved them. It has a sort of delicate mushroom taste, earthy and rich, and went very well with roasted corn and beans. A mole poblano as a dipping/drizzling sauce made boss-man Don happy. Hopefully this summer I can get some again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 12:37 pm

    This looks horrible.

    • March 6, 2011 5:09 pm

      Next summer, we’ll find some and I’ll cook it into something delicious, and you’ll be surprised, oh brother-in-law of mine!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

