Skip to content

Butternut squash are oppressing my people

March 10, 2011
tags: , ,

But I think my people kind of like it.

I’ve been getting a couple of huge butternut squashes each week in my produce box, but I prefer to use kabochas for roasting, which is my default squash-prep method. So what’s a girl to do with all the butternut piling up?

Make soup:

Roasted butternut squash-harissa soup with thyme-almond pesto

Roasted butternut squash-harissa soup with thyme-almond pesto

This first soup, from a couple of weeks ago, had a healthy dose of harissa (a dried pepper and spice paste) added just at the end of sauteeing some onions, and a bit of lemon juice to finish it before serving. The thyme pesto also had some arugula because a pesto made with just almonds and thyme would be too intense for me. I sprinkled on toasted almonds for a touch of crunch.

And then you make more soup, to keep the pile of squash in the corner of the counter from tipping over:

Butternut squash and casabel chile soup with sunflower seeds, grated romano cheese and whipped avocado

Butternut squash and casabel chile soup with sunflower seeds, grated romano cheese and whipped avocado

The second soup followed the same formula, but with dried casabel chiles, fire roasted tomatoes, toasted cumin and a little masa harina as seasoning. The crunchy bits there were sunflower seeds roasted with some honey, cumin and soy sauce. The avocado plopped on top to be stirred in for a creamy cool accent, was whipped together with tomatillo salsa for acidity and extra flavor.

Butternut is great for soup; it has a nice deep flavor and blends up perfectly smoothly with no little stringy bits (I prefer kabocha for roasting because it’s just so smooth and dense and holds together nicely.)

We got another squash yesterday in the produce box, but I think the season is over very very soon, and that makes me a little sad, and also relieved.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 6:47 am

    Oh these look great! I love the spices and garnishes you use..

    BTW, thank you so much for the surprise! It helps me more than you may even realize.. seriously!

    .. and I’ll definitely be coming down to the Bay Area… and would love to talk to you more about classes! I am going to try to firm up my travel dates in the next month or so and get back to you!
    -Melody

  2. March 17, 2011 7:26 am

    Those photos are beautiful. I’m with you can’t get enough of the butternut. Love the recipe.

  3. March 17, 2011 8:02 am

    Looks fantastic. I like the idea of adding harissa, plus your garnishes are really nice.

  4. March 19, 2011 11:14 pm

    Wow that looks really good and yummy!

  5. March 20, 2011 11:48 am

    These are lovely! Butternut squash soup is very photogenic.

    -Molly, kitchendeavor.wordpress.com

  6. May 7, 2011 10:55 pm

    Butternut is a wonderfully diverse vegetable and is excellent for soup. My favourite combination is roast butternut with orange. I roast the butternut with orange zest, coriander, mustard seeds, black pepper and some orange juice sprinkled over.

    In the final soup stage I add freshly squeezed orange juice for a delicious sweet soup. Sometimes I add a swirl of fresh cream to add some visual appeal.

    I will definitely be trying a chilli combination next time.

  7. May 31, 2011 4:34 pm

    Hi there, I was invited by Markham had lunch in your office last Friday, the pea soup was amazing!! I really wanted to tell you, but we had our schedule tight up visiting the SmugMug HQ and talking to Markham and Katherine, didn’t get a chance to thank you for preparing the food. Lunch it was amazing! Everything tasted authentic and homemade, a lot of efforts and they tasted of preparing from the heart. Thank you for your hard works!!

  8. November 1, 2011 6:53 am

    The soups look fantastic!! They are making me hungry!

  9. November 16, 2011 10:46 am

    cool, very great soup i liked it, look like delicious :)

  10. December 28, 2012 10:07 pm

    Awesome! Looking forward to your next entry. -KK

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

